To mark the 50th anniversary of Expo 67, the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal is presenting In Search of Expo 67, a major exhibition of new works by contemporary Québec and Canadian artists, all inspired by Expo 67.

Expo 67 was the heart and highlight of the Canadian Centennial celebrations and its impact on the Montréal, Québec and Canadian psyche is immense. Yet, while Expo 67 looms large in our collective memory, much of what made it so exceptional—the creative freedom offered to artists, architects and designers to experiment with new forms and technologies, and the incredible diversity of cultural productions—is less known. This major exhibition will investigate the most innovative, experimental and provocative dimensions of the original event, and its artistic, social and political context.

In Search of Expo 67 gives artists an opportunity to research this fertile ground and produce works that resonate with a contemporary public.     The exhibition includes 19 works by Québec and Canadian artists, 16 of which are new works created in dialogue with the spirit of 1967, challenging some of its underlying presumptions and valorizing its undeniable degree of invention. Grounded in the idea of exploring the resonances between what Expo 67 was and what remains in 2017, the artists, who have no direct experience of Expo 67, are developing projects on, among others, the Canada Pavilion (the People Tree, the Children’s Creative Centre and Katimavik), the Québec Pavilion, the Pavilions of France, the Indians of Canada and the United States of America, Kaleidoscope, as well as the rich sound experimentations of 1967, and the history and current condition of the site itself. The exhibition is built on three layers of engagement: production of new art works; recreation of works dating from 1967 using new technologies; and activation of archival material.

The exhibition is built on three layers of engagement: production of new art works; recreation of works dating from 1967 using new technologies; and activation of archival material.

The artists creating new works are:

  • Jean-Pierre Aubé
  • Marie-Claire Blais and Pascal Grandmaison
  • Simon Boudvin
  • Stéphane Gilot
  • Geronimo Inutiq
  • Leisure (Meredith Carruthers and Susannah Wesley)
  • Emmanuelle Léonard
  • Duane Linklater
  • Caroline Martel
  • David Ritter and Kathleen Ritter
  • David K. Ross
  • Chris Salter
  • Cheryl Sim
  • Charles Stankievech
  • Krista Belle Stewart
  • Althea Thauberger

Also included will be existing artworks by:

  • Jacqueline Hoàng Nguyễn
  • Mark Ruwedel,
  • Phil Hoffman and Eva Kolcze

A bilingual publication, to be co-published by the MAC and McGill-Queen’s University Press (MQUP) is planned for spring 2018. The book will contain scholarly texts, a curatorial essay as well as documentation of the exhibition, artists’ statements about their creative process, and archival materials. While the exhibition focuses on new contemporary artworks, the publication explores related themes of commemoration, nationalism and culture, as well as deeper investigations of the archival research process that has nurtured many of the contemporary artworks.

In Search of Expo 67 is a curatorial collaboration between MAC curator Lesley Johnstone and Monika Kin Gagnon, a university-based researcher, curator, writer, and co-director of the Concordia University research group CinemaExpo67.

The exhibition is organized with the support of CINEMAexpo67, Concordia University, Milieux Institute for Arts, Culture and Technology, Hexagram, the Cinémathèque québécoise, Place des Arts, the Archives of the City of Montréal, the National Film Board of Canada, the National Gallery of Canada, Library and Archives Canada, and Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. It is part of the official programming for Montréal’s 375th anniversary and for Expo 67 – 50 years later.

Available on Thinking out Loud (Concordia University): interviews hosted by Monika Kin Gagnon with contemporary artists reimagining Montreal’s iconic world’s fair. Listen or download the podcasts

Pour marquer le 50e anniversaire d’Expo 67, le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal organise À la recherche d’Expo 67, une importante exposition de nouvelles œuvres d’artistes québécois et canadiens qui s’inspirent d’Expo 67.

Expo 67 a représenté le cœur et l’aboutissement des célébrations du Centenaire du Canada, et ses répercussions sur la psyché montréalaise, québécoise et canadienne sont immenses. Bien qu’Expo 67 rayonne largement dans la mémoire collective, ce qui fait d’elle un moment exceptionnel — la liberté créatrice offerte aux artistes, architectes et designers d’expérimenter avec de nouvelles formes et des technologies de pointe, et l’incroyable diversité de la production culturelle — demeure relativement inconnu. Cette exposition majeure emprunte les avenues les plus novatrices, expérimentales et influentes de l’événement originel et leurs ramifications sociales, politiques et culturelles.

À la recherche d’Expo 67 offre aux artistes l’occasion de fouiller ce terreau fertile pour produire des œuvres qui trouveront écho auprès du public actuel. L’exposition comprend 19 œuvres d’artistes québécois et canadiens, dont 16 nouvelles créations qui se veulent un dialogue avec l’esprit de 1967, défiant certaines de ses présomptions sous-jacentes tout en mettant en valeur son indéniable inventivité. Les artistes n’ont aucune expérience directe d’Expo 67 et prennent appui sur l’idée d’explorer les résonances entre ce qu’a été Expo 67 et ce qu’il en reste en 2017. Les projets portent, entre autres, sur le pavillon du Canada (l’Arbre du peuple, le Centre d’arts des enfants et le Katimavik), le pavillon du Québec, les pavillons de la France, des Indiens du Canada et celui des États-Unis d’Amérique, le Kaléidoscope, ainsi que sur les riches expérimentations sonores de 1967 et enfin, sur l’histoire et l’état actuel du site.

L’exposition se déploie sur trois fronts : la création de nouvelles œuvres ; la recréation d’œuvres de 1967 avec les technologies d’aujourd’hui ; l’activation de contenus d’archives.

Les artistes créant de nouvelles œuvres sont :

  • Jean-Pierre Aubé
  • Marie-Claire Blais et Pascal Grandmaison
  • Simon Boudvin
  • Stéphane Gilot
  • Geronimo Inutiq
  • Leisure (Meredith Carruthers et Susannah Wesley)
  • Emmanuelle Léonard
  • Duane Linklater
  • Caroline Martel
  • David Ritter et Kathleen Ritter
  • David K. Ross
  • Chris Salter
  • Cheryl Sim
  • Charles Stankievech
  • Krista Belle Stewart
  • Althea Thauberger.

À cela s’ajoutent des œuvres existantes de:

  • Jacqueline Hoàng Nguyễn
  • Mark Ruwedel
  • Phil Hoffman et Eva Kolcze.

Une publication bilingue est prévue au printemps 2018, coproduite par le MAC et les Presses universitaires McGill-Queen’s (MQUP). La publication rassemblera des textes de chercheurs invités, un essai des co-commissaires au sujet de l’exposition, de la documentation pertinente, les points de vue des artistes sur leur processus créatif et du matériel d’archives. Alors que l’exposition propose des œuvres contemporaines, la publication explore les thèmes adjacents de la commémoration, du nationalisme et de la culture, en plus d’approfondir l’étude du processus de recherche d’archives dont se sont nourries plusieurs des œuvres contemporaines.

L’exposition est organisée avec le soutien de CINEMAexpo67, de l’Université Concordia, du Milieux Institute for Arts, Culture and Technology, de Hexagram, de la Cinémathèque québécoise, de la Place des Arts, des Archives de la Ville de Montréal, de l’Office national du film du Canada, du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada et du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada.

L’exposition s’inscrit dans la programmation officielle du 375e anniversaire de Montréal et d’Expo 67 – 50 ans plus tard.

À noter : Thinking Out Loud (Université Concordia) rend disponibles sur son site des entrevues réalisées par Monika Kin Gagnon avec des artistes contemporains, au sujet d’Expo 67
Écouter les entrevues ou télécharger les podcats