Summary

The MAC is presenting the first solo exhibition in Canada by internationally acclaimed artist Olafur Eliasson, who applies scientific principles in order to explore our relationship to time and space. Since the mid-1990s, Eliasson has produced devices that call upon the mechanisms we use to perceive light and natural phenomena. These truly multidisciplinary works offer immersive experiences that investigate body, movement and perception of self and the environment. Many of his installations thus guide our attention not only to what we see, but also to the way in which we look, creating what the artist calls situations of “seeing yourself seeing.”

Following the same lines that underlie Eliasson’s practice, the exhibition will feature a selection of important works that will allow visitors to appreciate the exceptional process of this unique artist. At once spare and ambitious, the pieces on view will propose an experience in which the viewer is immersed in a rarefied, fundamental universe consisting essentially of space, light and movement.

 

Biography

Born in 1967, Olafur Eliasson grew up in Denmark and Iceland. After studies at the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, in 1995 he moved to Berlin, where he founded Studio Olafur Eliasson, which today comprises about ninety craftsmen, artists, specialized technicians, computer specialists, architects, archivists, administrators, graphic designers, filmmakers and cooks. In 2003, Eliasson represented Denmark at the 50th Venice Biennale and presented The weather project at the Tate Modern in London. Take Your Time: Olafur Eliasson, a survey show organized in 2007 by the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA), travelled until 2010 to various venues, including the Museum of Modern Art, New York. In 2014, Contact was the inaugural exhibition at the Fondation Louis Vuitton in Paris. In 2016 Eliasson created a series of interventions for the palace and gardens of Versailles, including an enormous artificial waterfall that cascaded into the Grand Canal.

Eliasson’s projects in public space include the crystalline facades for Harpa Reykjavik Concert Hall and Conference Centre (2011); Cirkelbroen (The circle bridge), Copenhagen, Denmark, 2015; and Ice Watch for which Eliasson brought melting icebergs from Greenland to Paris on the occasion of the COP21 Climate Conference in 2015.

Together with engineer Frederik Ottesen, Eliasson founded the social business Little Sun in 2012. The global project produces solar lamps and mobile chargers for use in off-grid communities and spreads awareness about the need to expand access to sustainable energy to all. In 2014, Eliasson and long-time collaborator Sebastian Behmann founded an international office for art and architecture, Studio Other Spaces, to focus on interdisciplinary and experimental building projects and works in public space.

www.olafureliasson.net

Résumé

Le MAC présente la première exposition individuelle au Canada d’Olafur Eliasson, un artiste de réputation internationale qui applique des principes scientifiques afin d’explorer notre relation au temps et à l’espace. Depuis le milieu des années 1990, Eliasson réalise des dispositifs qui font appel à nos mécanismes de perception de la lumière et des phénomènes naturels. Véritablement multidisciplinaires, ses œuvres proposent des expériences immersives où sont investigués corps, mouvement, perception de soi et de l’environnement. Ainsi, plusieurs de ses installations dirigent notre attention non seulement sur ce qu’on voit, mais sur notre manière de regarder, et font en sorte, comme le dit l’artiste, qu’on « se voit en train de regarder ».

Fidèle aux lignes génératrices de la pratique d’Eliasson, l’exposition offrira une sélection d’œuvres significatives qui permettra de saisir la démarche exceptionnelle de cet artiste unique. À la fois ambitieuses et dépouillées, les œuvres présentées offriront une expérience dans laquelle on se trouve immergé dans un univers raréfié et fondamental composé principalement d’espace, de lumière et de mouvement.

À signaler

Cette exposition est la première présentation individuelle d’Olafur Eliasson au Canada.

Biographie

Né en 1967, Olafur Eliasson a grandi au Danemark et en Islande. Après des études à l’Académie royale des arts du Danemark, il s’installe en 1995 à Berlin où il fonde le Studio Olafur Eliasson qui regroupe aujourd’hui quelque 90 artisans, artistes, techniciens spécialisés, informaticiens, architectes, archivistes, administrateurs, graphistes, cinéastes et cuisiniers. En 2003, Eliasson a représenté le Danemark à la 50e Biennale de Venise et a présenté The Weather Project au Tate Modern, à Londres. Take Your Time: Olafur Eliasson, une exposition-bilan organisée en 2007 par le San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA), a circulé jusqu’en 2010 dans divers lieux de présentation, dont le Musée d’art moderne de New York. En 2014, son exposition Contact a inauguré la Fondation Louis Vuitton à Paris. En 2016, Eliasson a créé une série d’interventions pour le palais et les jardins de Versailles, notamment une gigantesque cascade artificielle dans l’axe du Grand Canal.

Parmi les projets dans l’espace public d’Eliasson, mentionnons les façades cristallines de Harpa, la salle de concert et le centre de congrès de Reykjavik (2011); Cirkelbroen (Pont circulaire) à Copenhague, au Danemark (2015); et Ice Watch, œuvre créée à l’occasion de la conférence sur le climat COP21 et pour laquelle Eliasson a fait venir des morceaux d’icebergs du Groenland jusqu’à Paris où ils ont fini de fondre (2015).

Avec l’ingénieur Frederik Ottesen, Eliasson a fondé l’entreprise sociale Little Sun en 2012. Ce projet global produit des lampes solaires et des chargeurs mobiles, utilisables dans les communautés auto-productrices, et fait prendre conscience du besoin d’élargir l’accès à l’énergie durable au plus grand nombre. En 2014, Eliasson et Sebastian Behmann, son collaborateur de longue date, ont fondé un bureau international d’art et d’architecture, Studio Other Spaces, qui se concentre sur des projets de construction interdisciplinaire et expérimentale et sur des œuvres dans l’espace public.

www.olafureliasson.net