The Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal is presenting two works by Tino Sehgal, one more choreographic and the other grounded in discourse and exchange.

His most iconic piece, Kiss, 2002, involves a couple enacting interpretations of well­-known kisses from art history.In a tightly choreographed eight-­minute loop, the two dancers transition seamlessly from one pose to the other and then reverse roles. 

This situation, 2007, which was recently acquired by the MACM in the bilingual (French­-English) edition, is akin to a contemporary salon. Drawing from quotations selected by Sehgal from 500 years of thought, players dis­cuss amongst themselves and with the visitors such issues as the aesthetics of existence and the implications of moving from a society of lack to one of abundance. The interpreters have been very carefully selected from local dance and intellectual communities by his producer, who worked with them over a period of weeks in preparing the exhibition.


Tino Sehgal, who was born in Britain in 1976 and lives in Berlin, creates what he calls “constructed situations,” choreographed gestures and spoken instructions that are acted out by “players” and “interpreters” in museum and gallery contexts. Explicitly not performances, they are on view continuously during a museum’s opening hours over a period of at least six  weeks. The conceptual nature of his practice grows out of an investigation into what consti­ tutes a work of art and a crystallization of the art experience, which for Sehgal entails a direct engagement, in the here and now, between visitors and players in carefully choreo­ graphed situations. The visitor is conceived as a fundamental part of the work and may, if he/ she chooses to participate, dramatically alter its unfolding. 

The immateriality of Sehgal’s work stems from an antipathy to the object and a polit­ ical conviction about the excessive proliferation of goods in Western society. He locates it  specifically within a museum context which he considers a microcosm of our economic real­ity. Sehgal, whose training is in dance and political economics, places economics at the heart of his practice: “My big question, which I think is the question of my generation, is that the way we produce nowadays, the social form of economic organization, is not going to be able to persist, and we are going to be measured against the question of how we are able to adjust to that.” 

In keeping with Sehgal’s strict opposition to manufacturing objects, the process of acquiring one of his works consists in a purely oral transaction involving the artist or one of his representatives, the director, curators and registrar of the museum, and a lawyer. The conditions of acquisition and installation are recited and committed to memory by all present, the price is discussed and when both parties are in agreement, there is a handshake. No paper documentation accompanies the acquisition. Conditions of presentation include the remuneration of all players and a strict refusal of video or photographic documentation, printed press releases, catalogues, labels or didactic panels.

Tino Sehgal’s most recent pieces are This variation, which was presented at Documenta (13) in Kassel, Germany this past summer, and These associations, in which seventy players filled the immense Turbine Hall of Tate Modern in London. He has had major solo exhibitions at  the Guggenheim Museum in New York, ICA in London and Walker Art Center in Minneapolis, and represented Germany at the 2005 Venice Biennale. 

The two works are presented continuously during Musée opening hours.

Le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal présente deux œuvres de Tino Sehgal, l’une plus chorégraphique, et l’autre, fondée sur le discours et l’échange.

Sa création la plus emblématique, Kiss, de 2002, engage un couple à réinterpréter des baisers célèbres dans l’histoire de l’art : dans une séquence minutieusement chorégraphiée en boucle de huit minutes, les deux danseurs passent sans transition d’une pose à l’autre, puis les rôles s’inversent.

This situation, de 2007, acquise récemment par le MACM en version bilingue français-anglais, s’apparente à un salon contemporain. Puisant dans les citations sélectionnées par Sehgal à partir de cinq siècles de pensée, les interprètes discutent entre eux et avec les visiteurs de divers enjeux : l’esthétique de l’existence ; les implications du passage d’une société de pénurie à une société d’abondance. Les interprètes ont été très soigneusement choisis dans les milieux locaux intellectuels et de la danse par le producteur de Sehgal, qui a travaillé avec eux durant plusieurs semaines à la préparation de l’exposition.


Tino Sehgal, qui est né en Grande-Bretagne en 1976 et vit à Berlin, crée ce qu’il appelle des « situations construites » faites de séquences chorégraphiées et d’instructions orales exécutées par des «joueurs» et «interprètes» à l’intérieur de musées ou de galeries. Différant explicitement de performances, ces actions sont présentées en continuité durant les heures d’ouverture d’un musée, sur une période d’au moins six semaines. Le caractère conceptuel de cette pratique émane d’une réflexion sur ce qui constitue une œuvre d’art et d’une cristallisation de l’expérience de l’art qui, pour Sehgal, débouche sur un engagement direct, ici et maintenant, entre visiteurs et interprètes dans des situations soigneusement chorégraphiées. Le visiteur est perçu comme partie prenante de l’œuvre et peut, s’il ou elle choisit d’y participer, en transformer le déroulement du tout au tout.

L’immatérialité de l’œuvre de Sehgal découle de son antipathie vis-à-vis de l’objet et de sa conviction d’une prolifération excessive de biens dans la société occidentale. L’artiste localise spécifiquement son travail au sein d’un contexte muséal qu’il considère comme un microcosme de notre réalité économique. Lui qui a étudié la danse et l’économie politique place cette dernière au cœur de sa pratique. «Ma grande question, dont je pense qu’elle est celle de ma génération, c’est que la manière dont nous produisons aujourd’hui, la forme sociétale de l’organisation économique, ne vont pas se perpétuer, et que nous serons contraints d’affronter le problème de notre capacité à nous ajuster à ce fait. »

En considération du rejet absolu, par Sehgal, des objets manufacturés, le processus d’acquisition d’une de ses œuvres consiste en une transaction purement orale engageant l’artiste ou l’un de ses représentants, la direction, la conservation et le registrariat du musée, et un juriste. Les conditions d’acquisition et d’installation de l’œuvre sont énoncées, et ainsi mémorisées par tous les assistants ; le prix est négocié et, quand les deux parties parviennent à un accord, on se serre la main. Aucun document écrit n’accompagne cette démarche. Les conditions de présentation spécifient la rémunération de tous les interprètes en plus d’une stricte interdiction de captation vidéo ou photographique, d’impression de communiqués de presse, d’un catalogue, de cartels ou de panneaux didactiques.

Les œuvres les plus récentes de Sehgal sont This variation, qui a été présentée à la Documenta (13) de Cassel, en Allemagne, l’été dernier, et These associations, dans laquelle 70 interprètes emplissent l’immense Turbine Hall de la Tate Modern de Londres. D’importantes expositions individuelles de Sehgal ont eu lieu au Musée Guggenheim de New York, à l’Institute of Contemporary Arts de Londres et au Walker Art Center de Minneapolis, et il a représenté l’Allemagne à la Biennale de Venise, en 2005.

Les deux oeuvres sont présentées en continu pendant les heures d’ouverture du Musée.